Knowledgebase: Proofpoint Essentials
Digest Settings
Posted by Richard Kennedy on 10/03/16 15:30

Digests are used to allow end users to easily view a list of emails that have been quarantined. Users can review
the digest and choose to take additional actions for each quarantined email. The digest allows users to take
the following actions when viewing a quarantined email:

  • Release Once: Allows user to release a specific email from a sender one time. This may be an
    email newsletter that they do not want to receive regularly or an email from a source that you
    feel may be a legitimate source. The release function does not update the Proofpoint Essentials
    spam-learning engine and does not create any rules in relation to the sender.

  • Release Always: Allows the user to have the desired message released immediately and inform
    Proofpoint Essentials to create an Allow filter between the sender and recipient so that mail will
    not be qualified as Spam from this sender in future.

To view the current digest settings:

  1. Click on the Company Settings tab
  2. Click on the Digests tab

The digest options can be adjusted to suit each customer. These options can be applied to users directly. To
manage a users spam threshold, go to Managing Users & Groups / Configuration Options for Users and
Groups.

Receive Quarantine DigestsSpecifies if a summary report is generated or not

Send Quarantine Digest only if there are new messages
Specifies that the Quarantine digest will only be delivered when new messages have been quarantined since
the last report was run

Interval between Quarantine Digest checks
Specifies the frequency of the quarantine digest delivery. The default value is set to 24 hours but there are
options for 12 hours, 8 hours, 6 hours and 4 hours. The quarantine digest is sent out at 3:00 AM local time
(depending on the time zone configuration of the company) and at other times throughout the day depending
on the interval selected

Retention period
Defines the period of time messages are retained in the Quarantine

Update Quarantine Digest Settings
If the “Update Quarantine Digest settings for all existing user accounts” checkbox is checked, the company
quarantine digest settings will replace any end-user settings that have been defined.

Proofpoint Essentials allows you to manage these settings at the user level. Please go to Managing Users &
Groups / Configuration Options for Users and Groups to learn more about how to make changes

Receive Quarantine Digests
Specifies if a summary report is generated or no

(0 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)
121