Knowledgebase:
Manage Accounting Periods User Permissions
Posted by Kathryn Smith, Last modified by Kathryn Smith on 15/06/21 14:02

Manage Accounting Periods User Permissions

Before users can set up or change accounting periods they must be assigned permissions to be able to make the changes. This includes, opening, closing, reopening and deleting accounting periods. Different permissions can be assigned to individual users.

To find the user permissions go to Accounting System Manager > Accounting Periods > Maintain Accounting Period User Permissions.

Upon opening this option you will be presented with the following screen.

From this screen, you can add, edit and remove permissions for users.

If you are setting up a new user, you will need to select 'Add'.

Select the Username from the drop down box and then select the relevant permissions.

To amend the permissions of an existing user, select 'Edit'.

To remove a user entirely from having permissions, select 'Remove'. You will then need to confirm that you want to continue.

The options you have available for users are split into two sections.

User Permissions for Accounting Periods. 

Add/ Amend/ Delete Periods - if this is selected users will be able to amend the periods that are set up, change the dates that they run for, add new periods and delete periods.

User Permissions for Source Modules.

Open future periods - Allows users to change periods from 'future' to 'open'.

Close periods - Allows users to close periods.

Re-Open Closed Periods - Allows users to go back and reopen periods that have previously been closed.

Users can have each of these permissions set against each module in the program, Sales Ledger/ Purchase ledger/ Cash Book/ Stock and the Nominal Ledger.

If users do not have any permissions set within the user permissions, then when they access the Maintain Accounting Periods screen they will not be able to do anything, as the options will be grayed out.

(0 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)